The Discovery Search is found on the HJF Learning Center's home page. It allows you to perform simple searches across multiple databases.
NOTE: Because the various databases are structured differently, Mustang Search results may vary widely. For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually.
When you find an article that covers your topic well (for example an article in a journal, a chapter in a book, or an entry in an encyclopedia or Wikipedia), consider investigating the sources the author used in writing that article.
Then, use the Library Catalog listing to search for the sources.
If you cannot find the article, you may need to request a copy from another library using ILL, or interlibrary loan. See the box below for more information. If you need help with this process, you can ask a librarian.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows you to check out materials that are unavailable in our library from libraries around the US. It is available to all Morningside students (including distant education graduate students), faculty, and staff. ILL can be used for both physical and digital materials.
To find a book or other physical resource outside our library, it is easiest to use our Discovery Search. Once you find a resource you want, click on the record. There will be a maroon button labeled "Request Item Through Interlibrary Loan." Click this button and fill in your contact information to make an ILL request.
You can also use the ILL Submission Form. Make sure to put as much information as possible. This makes it easier for us to find the correct item for you.
Physical resources may take 7 to 10 days or longer to receive once you put in a request. Please keep this in mind when beginning your research. You will receive an email when your item(s) are available to be picked up at the library.
Digital materials often only take a few days to receive. These resources will be emailed to you.
If you have any questions about ILL, please do not hesitate to ask a librarian.
Databases are a great place to look for articles relevant to your memoir. The HJF Learning Center provides access to a number of databases.
Not sure where to start? Try narrowing your focus--determine what discipline your research topic may fall into. Then narrow the database choices to those in that discipline by clicking on:
You can also start by searching Academic Search Elite or Academic OneFile, which are more general databases that cover a wide-range of topics:
Newspaper Articles may help you support your memoir as well. These databases focus on newspaper articles:
You can also contact your hometown newspaper and see if they have an archive of old copies. Many newspapers are now available online or through a digital collection at a local institution.