Skip to main content

Chicago Citations (17th ed.): A. Artwork

This guide will help you use Chicago style for citations.

About Citing Works of Art

This guide is intended to cover only the Notes and Bibliography system for citing works of art.

For each type of source in this guide, both the general form and a specific example will be provided.

The following format will be used:

Full Note - use the first time that you cite a source.

Concise Note - use after the first time you cite a source.

Bibliography - use when you are compiling the Bibliography that appears at the end of your paper.

Information on citing and several of the examples were drawn from The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.).

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the manual.

Artwork and Other Images (pp. 859-860)

If the artwork you are citing was consulted online, include a URL as the last item in the notes and bibliographic citations. If not, disregard that section of the citation format. If item is only expressed in metric units by the collection or museum, only include the metric units in place of the Imperial units in the citation formats below.

General Format 
Full Note:

1. Author First Name and/or Initial Surname, Image Title, Date of creation, format, size in Imperial units (size in metric units), museum or collection, location of museum or collection, URL.

Concise Note: 

2. Author Surname, Image Title.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name and/or Initial. Image Title. Year. Format, size in Imperial units (size in metric units). Museum or collection, location of museum or collection.

Example 
Full Note:

1. Salvador Dalí, The Persistence of Memory, 1931, oil on canvas, 9½ x 13" (24.1 cm x 33 cm), Museum of Modern Art, New York, http://www.moma.org/collection/works/79018.

Concise Note:

2. Dalí, The Persistence of Memory.

Bibliography:

Dalí, Salvador. The Persistence of Memory. 1931. Oil on canvas, 9½ x 13" (24.1 cm x 33 cm). Museum of Modern Art, New York. http://www.moma.org/collection/works/79018.

Writing Help

Having trouble with getting started on your paper? Would you like your paper edited before turning it in?

Contact the Writing Center to set up an appointment!

Online Citation Creators

WARNING: Free online citation creators are not 100% correct. In fact, they are often wrong. It is much easier to write out the citation yourself than use these creators.

Please ask a librarian for assistance if you are having trouble with citations.