Skip to main content

Chicago Citations (17th ed.): E. Chapter or Article in a Multi-Volume Work

This guide will help you use Chicago style for citations.

About Citing Books

This guide is intended to cover only the Notes and Bibliography system for citing books.

For each type of source in this guide, both the general form and a specific example will be provided.

The following format will be used:

Full Note - use the first time that you cite a source.

Concise Note - use after the first time you cite a source.

Bibliography - use when you are compiling the Bibliography that appears at the end of your paper.

Information on citing and several of the examples were drawn from The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.). 

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the manual.

Chapter or Article in a Multivolume Work (p. 809)

Presented here is the most basic form of a citation for this kind of material. Multivolume works often have editors (and for edited multivolume works, include the editor / editors in the same place as noted on our section on chapters and articles in multi-author books), but also multivolume works sometimes name each volume individually, some volumes may have a different editor than the general editor of the series, and so on, as this sort of work is often published slowly over several years (if not decades) and details of authorship and editorship can change significantly as time moves on. In our collection, the most difficult example of this kind of material is The War of the Rebellion, a comprehensive and exhaustive collection of all materials published internally by the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War.

For more help regarding these more complex examples, please see pp. 807-811 in the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed., or visit with our reference librarian Holly Schettler.

General Format
Full Note:

1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Title of Chapter or Article," in Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Volume #:page #.

Concise Note: 

2. Author Surname, "Title of Chapter or Article," Volume #:page #.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Chapter or Article." In Vol. Volume #, Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example
Full Note:

1. Mario Creet, "Fleming, Sir Sandford," in Dictionary of Canadian Biography: 1911-1920 (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1998), 14:359.

Concise Note:

2. Creet, "Fleming, Sir Sandford," 14:359.

Bibliography:

Creet, Mario. "Fleming, Sir Sandford." In Vol. 14, Dictionary of Canadian Biography: 1911-1920. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1998: 359.

Writing Help

Having trouble with getting started on your paper? Would you like your paper edited before turning it in?

Contact the Writing Center to set up an appointment!

Online Citation Creators

WARNING: Free online citation creators are not 100% correct. In fact, they are often wrong. It is much easier to write out the citation yourself than use these creators.

Please ask a librarian for assistance if you are having trouble with citations.