- Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Academic Search Premier is usually the first place a user should start when researching a topic for the first time. It covers all academic disciplines and includes the full text of more than 4,600 journals of which, 3,900 are peer-reviewed titles.
- Access Science
Access Science is an online reference service provided by McGraw-Hill. It provides encyclopedic-like articles on thousands of scientific topics, biographies on important individuals in the world of science, current issues in the news and popular media, animations and videos explaining different concepts, study aids and much more. Access Science covers a wide ranging variety of topics from astronomy to zoology.
- America's Historical Newspapers (Readex from NewsBank)
"Find news articles covering topics in government, politics, social issues, culture, literature, discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources . Search using either the timeline or topic search to easily find news and eyewitness accounts and pro/con articles of events, issues and daily life in the colonies or during the Revolutionary War, westward expansion, the Civil War, Reconstruction, industrialization, the Progressive Era, World War I and other eras. Also included are illustrations, advertisements, classifieds, birth and marriage announcements, obituaries, stories about historic people and other articles exactly as they appeared in print," (Newsbank 2012).
- American Chemical Society (ACS)
The ACS is a supplier of peer-reviewed journals in the study of chemistry and related sciences. An alphabetical list of journals they supply is presented but books in PDF or html format are also available. ACS also presents symposiums on related subjects, videos, and news RSS feeds. ACS also offers a mobile app for Apple and Android that can be found in their respective app stores. The mobile app allows for offline use of the database and downloading of PDF files for reading later.
- American Memory (Library of Congress)
The American Memory project is produced by the United States Library of Congress. "A digital library of historic maps, photos, documents, audio and video from the American Memory" (Library of Congress, 2011).
- ArticleFirst (OCLC)
ArticleFirst is an OCLC product that can be accessed through this link or through WorldCat. ArticleFIrst is an index of over 27,000,000 article titles appearing in more than 16,000 publications. These articles are not necessarily available online but typically through interlibrary loan.
The Cornell University Libraries have facilitated open access to over 700,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Note although these papers are scholarly, they are not necessarily peer-reviewed.
- BioMed Central
“All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication” (Biomed Central, 2012) The full text of 220 peer-reviewed journals in the Life and Medical sciences may be found here.
- Business Source Premier (Ebsco)
“Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles … (EbscoHost, 2011). Coverage includes the disciplines of accounting, finance, marketing, human resources, MIS< management and economics. Also included in this database are reference sources that may be used for company and country research projects.
- Chemistry Central
Chemistry Central is a open access journal that produces peer-reviewed literature in many different areas of chemistry including: organic, inorganic, biological, physical, environmental, analytic, food science and materials and polymers. Chemistry Central is indexed in BioMed Central, PubMed Central, and Ebsco A to Z.
- CINAHL with Full Text (Ebsco)
“CINAHL® with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals … “(EbscoHost, 2011).
- Classical Music Library
“Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. … Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera” (Alexander Street Press, 2011). Only five simultaneous uses may listen at the same time.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (Ebsco)
“CMMC incorporates the content of … journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource. … CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals” (EbscoHost, 2011).
- Corporate ResourceNet (Ebsco)
Corporate ResourceNet is designed to meet the diverse information needs of today’s companies. This database contains full text articles from nearly 1,200 quality magazines and journals (EbscoHost, 2011).
- CREDO Reference
CREDO Reference is a searchable collection of 555 reference books (in digital format) covering most fields of study.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
“The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact …” (Directory of Open Access, 2011).
ECO is an index of over 4.2 million article titles appearing in more than 5,000 publications. Coverage extends back to the 1995 and includes all academic disciplines. Note that an index supplies only basic information such article title and author, the name of the publication in which the article appeared and publication date.
- Education Researcher Complete (Ebsco)
“Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs” (EbscoHost, 2011)
- Encyclopedia Britannica
The full content of the Encyclopedia Britannica is searchable and online. Other tools included with this include interactive interfaces and links to related information appearing in periodicals and newspapers and refereed websites.
- ERIC (Ebsco)
“ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966” (EbscoHost, 2011). Note that those items with an identifier beginning with an ED number are not peer-reviewed.
- Federal Digital System - Government Printing Office (GPO, FDSYS)
FDSYS is the new search engine for the Government Printing Office. It has many different collections to search from and most of the documentation is available entirely online for your convienence.
- Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia (Ebsco)
"This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas." (EbscoHost 2011)
- GreenFILE (Ebsco)
"GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records," (EBSCOhost, 2011).
- Health Source: Consumer Edition (Ebsco)
“Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines” (EbscoHost, 2011).
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic (Ebsco)
“This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names” (EbscoHost, 2011).
- Highwire Press
HighWire hosts 1535 Journals, Books, Reference Works & other Scholarly Publications. Many titles are available in full text.
- IPA Source
"Online since 2003, IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 5598 texts including 955 aria texts!" (IPA Source 2011).
“JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences” (JSTOR, 2011) Although most content found here is full text, researchers may also find links to articles that are not available online through Morningside College.
- Lexis Nexis
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of databases sharing a common “Easy Search” interface. ‘Advanced’ searches may also be conducted from each database module. Researchers looking for news articles, legal resources country information and company information may wish to consider LexisNexis as a resource. All content is full text.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
"Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s," (EBSCOhost, 2011).
- MasterFile Premier (Ebsco)
"Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975 … MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags…” (EbscoHost, 2011).
- McClatchy-Tribune Collection (Ebsco)
“The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services. This database is updated daily” (EbscoHost, 2011).
MEDLINE is a registered trademark of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes over 18 million records many of which have abstracts. Using the MEDLINE interface in FirstSearch facilitates an easy ILL process.
- Micromedex Healthcare
Micromedex includes two research tools. CareNotes is a database of health information intended for patients and/or their families who need basic information about a health condition and related care requirements. Drug interactions, as the name suggests is a database covering drugs and their side-effects and interactions with one another.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals (Ebsco)
"The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines," (EBSCOhost, 2011).
- MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco)
“MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The index includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text” (EbscoHost, 2011).
- NewsBank News Headlines
Current and past headlines from leading news sources.
- NewsBank Special Reports
Current and past Special Reports and "Year in Review" with archives.
- Newspaper Source Plus (Ebsco)
“Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts (EbscoHost, 2011).
- Oxford English Dictionary
“The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. ” (Oxford University Press, 2011).
- Philosopher's Index (Ebsco)
“The Philosopher’s Indext™, produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. … The Philosopher’s Indext™ contains research published since 1940 including over 680 journals from more than 50 countries with content representing a variety of languages” (EbscoHost, 2011).
- Political Science Complete (Ebsco)
“Political Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association” (EbscoHost, 2011).
- Primary Search (Ebsco)
"Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990," (EBSCOhost, 2011).
- Professional Development Collection (Ebsco)
Professional Development Collection provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports” (EbscoHost, 2011).
- PsycARTICLES (Ebsco)
“PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains over 150,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA … and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association… “ (EbscoHost, 2011).
- PsycINFO (Ebsco)
“The PsycINFO , database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health” (EbscoHost, 2011). It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. When available, linking to the full text articles is included with each record. (EbscoHost, 2011).
- PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection (PubMed Central, 2011).
- Regional Business News (Ebsco)
“This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Click here for a complete title list. Click here for more info” (EbscoHost, 2011).
- Small Business Reference Center (Ebsco)
"Small Business Reference Center™ provides up to date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books" (EbscoHost 2011).
- Teacher Reference Center (Ebsco)
"Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators" (EbscoHost 2011).
- TOPICsearch (Ebsco)
TOPICsearch is a current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 60,000 articles from 399 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, (EbscoHost, 2011).
- Vocational and Career Development (Ebsco)
Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.