LibGuides: History and Systems: 5 Minute History Lesson

Assignment Overview

Students must create a 5 minute PowerPoint presentation that is narrated by them and can be played in front of the class.

Details:

Students should select a topic that is part of the history of psychology. The topic could be a person from psychology, an event, an experiment, or a place.
Students can use any software that allows for PowerPoint narration (Ilos is one example).
Presentations should be between 4-6 minutes long and contain at least 3 slides (though you are likely to have more).
The presentations should contain primarily pictures and other visuals that explain the topic, and the students will narrate information related to the topic. Think about the presentation as a story you are telling the class. You are telling the story of that person, place or event in five minutes.
At the time of the presentation, students must also turn in an annotated bibliography, which includes all the sources (minimum of 3) consulted for the presentation, cited in correct APA format.

Examples can be found on the Center for the History of Psychology YouTube page: http://tinyurl.com/hnz6fxk

Annotated Bibliography Requirements

An annotated bibliography must be turned in at the time of presentation. You should have a minimum of 5 sources and all sources must be included in the annotated bibliography.

The annotated bibliography must be in APA style. Each annotation should include the following information:

In 1-2 sentences, provide a summary of the material
State how this material applies/connects to your presentation
Make a statement about the credibility of the material (i.e. are you using sources that are direct or could the authors have some bias)

Other Helpful Tabs

See the In-class Presentations tab of this LibGuide to learn more about presentations and citing properly when using PowerPoint.

See the Historical Analysis tab of this LibGuide to learn more about how to research your topic.

Screencasting / Screen Capturing

VidGrid
Link provided by your instructor (previously known as Ilos)
Jing
Free version does screenshots with annotations, videos up to 5 minutes with sound.
Screencast-O-Matic
15 minutes of video in the free version.

Using VidGrid

The video below has a short introduction on how to use VidGrid/Ilos. You can use the software with a link from your instructor.

Additional video tutorials can be found here.

Creating a Narrated Powerpoint

Creating a Narrated Powerpoint
From the University of Hartford. Step-by-step instructions on how to use PPT with narration.

Psychological Research

Psychology Collection (PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES)
"PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

Practitioners, researchers, and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. PsycINFO includes psychological research and its applications; the database is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments worldwide. The sources include over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters," (ProQuest, 2019).

"PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals," (ProQuest, 2019).

ProQuest Psychology Collection provides complete access to PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress. PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO are provided by the American Psychology Association APA.
Education Research Complete
“Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,400 journals, as well as full-text for more than 1,300 journals and 530+ books and monographs,” (EbscoHost, 2019).
ERIC
"ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. It includes more than 1.6 million records, links to nearly 750,000 full-text documents, coverage dating back to 1966, and an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms," (EBSCOhost, 2019).

General and Historical Databases

Academic Search Elite
Academic Search Elite offers nearly 1,600 active full-text journals and magazines, more than 1,300 active full-text peer-reviewed journals, more than 670 active full-text peer-reviewed journals with no embargo, and more than 1,100 full-text journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus. Academic Search Elite covers most disciplines, provides access to news and videos from the Associated Press.
Academic OneFile
"The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly," (Gale, 2017).
JSTOR Collections
“JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences,” (JSTOR, 2011). Although most content found here is full-text, researchers may also find links to articles that are not available online through Morningside College. The HJF Library provides access through JSTOR to 15 Arts & Sciences Collections and 1 Life Science Collection.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
is a great resource on specific philosophers and philosophical ideas or schools of thought. Each entry also has a list of references that may be used for further research.