LibGuides: History and Systems: Theme Collage Poster

Poster Project - Details

Poster project details are available in your assignment guidelines. Some brief information regarding each assignment follows.

Theme Collage Poster

Students can select any topic related to psychology (person, event, experiment, place, ect..) and must get preapproval.
Students must create a poster that is minimum size 11 X 17 (may be larger if the student chooses). See your handout for details on printing or other mediums.
Materials on the poster should consist of images, pictures, and/or original material (like newspaper articles, magazines, research papers).
Students need to include an informal writing that explains why items were selected for the collage.

Poster Design Software

PowerPoint: A popular, easy-to-use option. (How to set up PowerPoint for posters).

Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign: Feature-rich professional software that is good for posters including lots of high-resolution images, but they are more complex and expensive.

Open Source Alternatives: OpenOffice in the free alternative to MS Office (Impress is its PowerPoint alternative). Inkscape and Gimp are alternatives to Adobe products. Canva is also a great resource for graphic elements or creating posters.

Online Resources

Never created a poster? Need help finding resources?

Talk to a librarian! Chat with us, email us, or stop by to receive more help. You can also check out some of the following resources:

MakeSigns - Tips, tutorials and more
MakeSigns.com offers research poster tutorials, tips, templates and online printing services
Research Poster Design Basics
from Kent State University. A presentation on basic guidelines for creating a research poster using Microsoft PowerPoint
Pimp My Poster - Flickr Group
For obtaining input on your research poster design from other Flickr users. Simply join the group and post an image version of your PowerPoint poster design for feedback.
Canva
Canva is an online design and publishing tool with a mission to empower everyone in the world to design anything and publish anywhere.

Free Stock Images

New Old Stock - vintage photos
Freerange Stock
Photos can be used for personal and commercial projects. Just required to sign up for a (free) membership
Stockvault
A photo-sharing site where photographers and designers can share their images for free. Images are free for personal and non-commercial use.
Burst
Photos on this site have a Creative Commons Zero license, meaning that they are completely royalty-free.
Pixabay
Over 1.5 million royalty free stock photos and videos.

Finding Primary Resources

To find historical or primary sources, you can take multiple approaches.

(1) Do some background reading using Google or Wikipedia. Do these non-academic sources mention any primary sources you can track down?

(2) Who are important psychologists related to your topic? What about events, experiments, or places? Can you track down resources written by these people? Or resources written about the event, experiment, or place during the original time period?

(3) Read secondary resources on your "event." Do these resources mention or include any primary documents you can track down or use?

(4) Search the library's databases or WorldCat ILL for sources written by the psychologists that are a part of your "event." The databases below may be especially helpful.

America's Historical Newspapers
"Find news articles covering topics in government, politics, social issues, culture, literature, discoveries, inventions and more from hundreds of primary sources . Search using either the timeline or topic search to easily find news and eyewitness accounts and pro/con articles of events, issues and daily life in the colonies or during the Revolutionary War, westward expansion, the Civil War, Reconstruction, industrialization, the Progressive Era, World War I and other eras. Also included are illustrations, advertisements, classifieds, birth and marriage announcements, obituaries, stories about historic people and other articles exactly as they appeared in print ," (Newsbank 2019).
JSTOR Collections
“JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences,” (JSTOR, 2011). Although most content found here is full-text, researchers may also find links to articles that are not available online through Morningside College. The HJF Library provides access through JSTOR to 15 Arts & Sciences Collections and 1 Life Science Collection.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
(double check the rights before using)

Additional Databases

Psychology Collection (PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES)
"PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

Practitioners, researchers, and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. PsycINFO includes psychological research and its applications; the database is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments worldwide. The sources include over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters," (ProQuest, 2019).

"PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals," (ProQuest, 2019).

ProQuest Psychology Collection provides complete access to PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress. PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO are provided by the American Psychology Association APA.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
"Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection," (Gale, 2017).
Statista This link opens in a new window
"Statista.com is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 22,500 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets," (Statista.com).
Academic OneFile
"The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly," (Gale, 2017).
Academic Search Elite
Academic Search Elite offers nearly 1,600 active full-text journals and magazines, more than 1,300 active full-text peer-reviewed journals, more than 670 active full-text peer-reviewed journals with no embargo, and more than 1,100 full-text journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus. Academic Search Elite covers most disciplines, provides access to news and videos from the Associated Press.