For this assignment, you will need to choose a topic (i.e. concept, method, or area) in psychology in which you have an academic or occupational interest. Your presentation will explain how this topic has evolved throughout time.
Presentations must include information about:
A History of Clinical Psychology by 
An Introduction to the History of Psychology by 
Current Systems in Psychology: history, theory, research, and applications by 
The Mystery of Personality: a history of psychodynamic theories by 
The Aesthetic of Play by 
The Evolution of Psychology: fifty years of the American psychologist by 
The Psychology of the Unconscious: Mesmer, Janet, Freud, Jung, and current issues by 
On Our Minds: how evolutionary psychology is reshaping the nature-versus-nurture debate by 
The Psychology of Hate by 
Attachment, Evolution, and the Psychology of Religion by 
Handbook of Personality Psychology by 
The Science of Emotion: research and tradition in the psychology of emotions by 
Social Cognition: impact on social psychology by 
The Psychology of Attitudes by 
Cognitive Psychology: an overview for cognitive scientists by The origins of your topic refers to when it was first examined in the field of psychology.
Sources that can help with the origin part of your paper:
Also remember to check the library's catalog! Any books on the history of psychology should be helpful. You can also search based on your topic (developmental psychology, moral reasoning, etc.).
A few books in the library that may help with this part of your paper are listed to the left.
Early conceptualizations of your topic refers to the people, theories, and events that have influenced it prior to at least 1970.
It may be easier to start researching the early conceptualizations of your topic. to find your ideas, and then to trace them backwards in time and forward to the present.
Sources that can help with the early conceptualizations part of your paper:
Again, the library catalog will be helpful for this part of your paper.
The current understanding of your topic refers to the people, theories, and events that have influenced it more recently. How has the idea evolved, and how do we presently understand it?
Sources that can help with the current understanding part of your paper:
You can also find recent articles through the journal index. Use this link when searching for a specific journal title to see if Morningside College has access to the full-text.
If you can not find the full-text of an article you need, you may request the article through interlibrary loan, or ILL.
The future predictions of your topic refers to an informed speculation of how this area or topic will continue to influence psychology during the next 20 years or so. Based on its past and present, what direction do you think it will take?
This part of your paper relies more on speculation and drawing conclusions based on what you have found in the other parts of your paper. But current research can also help round out this section. You may find forward-looking resources that consider how the area or topic you have chosen will influence the future of psychology. Consult resources listed in the above sections.
Some examples of topics are listed below. This is not an exhaustive list.
An annotated bibliography must be turned in at the time of presentation. You should have a minimum of 5 sources and all sources must be included in the annotated bibliography.
The annotated bibliography must be in APA style. Each annotation should include the following information:
All scholarly writing needs to be properly cited. If you need help with citations, you can talk to your professor or a librarian.
You can also check out our citation style LibGuide:
Or, if you prefer, we have physical copies of the APA manual available at the circulation desk for checkout.
You can also try Purdue OWL - APA.
The best resource for help with annotated bibliographies is Purdue OWL.
This site gives walks you through the annotation process. It also provides great examples of annotations and information on the proper formatting of an annotated bibliography.
The EBSCO eBook collection includes titles covering many subjects. Click here to start searching for eBooks on your topic.
The Hidden Roots of Critical Psychology: Understanding the Impact of Locke, Shaftesbury and Reid by 
From Séance to Science: A History of the Profession of Psychology in America by 
After Freud Left: A Century of Psychoanalysis in America by 
Beyond Individual and Group Differences: Human Individuality, Scientific Psychology, and William Stern's Critical Personalism by 
The Psychology of Imagination: History, Theory, and New Research Horizons by