Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Citations (7th ed.): Edited Book Chapters and Entries in Reference Works

This guide will help you learn how to properly cite sources in APA style and how to avoid plagiarism.

Edited Book Chapters & Entries in Reference Works

The edited book chapter category includes chapters of edited books and works in anthologies. The entries in reference works category includes dictionary, thesaurus, and encyclopedia entries.

The format, platform, or device is not included in the reference for these types of sources.

For a chapter in an authored book, create a reference for the whole book and provide the chapter number within the in-text citation only.

Not all examples are represented here. Please see pp. 326-329 of the manual for more examples.

Template for Edited Book Chapters & Entries in Reference Works

Chapter in an Edited Book with a DOI

Hargis, M. B., Siegel, A. L., & Castel, A. D. (2019). Motivated memory, learning, and decision-making in older age: Shifts in priorities and goals. In G. R. Samanez-Larken (Ed.), The aging brain: Functional adaptation across adulthood (pp. 135-163). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000143-006


Parenthetical citation: (Hargis et al., 2019)

Narrative citation: Hargis et al. (2019)

Chapter in an Edited Book without a DOI

Pritchett, L. (2019). Understanding the politics of the learning crisis: Steps ahead on a long road. In S. Hickey & N. Hossain (Eds.), The politics of education in developing countries: From Schooling to learning (pp. 197-209). Oxford University Press.


Parenthetical citation: (Pritchett, 2019)

Narrative citation: Pritchett (2019)

Chapter in an Edited Ebook or Audiobook without a DOI

  • For audiobooks, include the narrator and audiobook notation if the content is different than other formats, if you want to note something special about the audiobook (e.g., the impact of narration on the listener), or if you quote form the audiobook.

Kahn, J. S. (1997). Culturalizing Malaysia: Globalism, tourism, heritage, and the city in Georgetown. In M. Picard & R. E. Wood (Eds.), Tourism, ethnicity, and the state in Asian and Pacific societies (pp. 99-127). University of Hawaii Press. https://scholarspace.manoa.hawaii.edu/bitstream/handle/10125/24150/Picard%20-%20Tourism,%20Ethnicity.pdf?sequence=1


Parenthetical citation: (Kahn, 1997)

Narrative citation: Kahn (1997)

Chapter in a Volume of a Multivolume Work

  • If the volume has both series editors (or editors-in-chief) and volume editors, only the volume editors appear in the reference.
  • The volume in this example has its own title. If you have an untitled volume, you would include the volume number after the edition of the book, within the same parentheses, and before the page numbers.

Goldin-Meadows, S. (2015). Gesture and cognitive development. In L. S. Liben & U. Mueller (Eds.), Handbook of child psychology and developmental science: Vol. 2. Cognitive processes (7th ed., pp. 339-380). John Wiley & Sons. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118963418.childpsy209


Parenthetical citation: (Goldin-Meadow, 2015)

Narrative citation: Goldin-Meadow (2015)

Work in an Anthology

Lewin, K. (1999). Group decision and social change. In M. Gold (Ed.), The complete social scientist: A Kurt Lewin reader (pp. 265-284). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/10319-010 (Original work published 1948)


Parenthetical citation: (Lewin, 1948/1999)

Narrative citation: Lewin (1948/1999)

Entry in a Dictionary, Thesaurus, or Encyclopedia

  • An entry in a dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia may have a group author or individual author.
  • When an online reference work is continuously updated and the versions are not archived, use "n.d." as the year of publication and include a retrieval date.
  • See an example of an archived entry on p. 328 of the manual.

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Self-respect. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved January 6, 2020, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/self-respect

Shaver, R. (n.d.). Egoism. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy. Stanford University. Retrieved January 6, 2020, from https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/egoism/


Parenthetical citations: (Merriam-Webster, n.d.; Shaver, n.d.)

Narrative citations: Merriam-Webster (n.d.) and Shaver (n.d.)