Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Citations (7th ed.): Periodicals

This guide will help you learn how to properly cite sources in APA style and how to avoid plagiarism.

Periodicals

Periodicals are generally published on a continuous basis and include:

  • Journals
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers
  • Newsletters
  • Blogs
  • Other online platforms

The date element is presented in different formats for journal, magazine, and newspaper articles and blog posts.

When periodical information if missing, omit it from the reference.

To cite online news websites, see the Webpages & Websites tab of this guide.

Periodicals Template

Journal Article with a DOI

  • Always include the DOI if one is available.
  • List up to 20 authors in your reference entry.
  • Include an article number or eLocator if provided. Capitalize the word "Article" before the article number or eLocator.
  • Volume number is italicized.

Crossley, M. J., Maddox, W. T., & Ashby, F. G. (2018). Increased cognitive load enables unlearning in procedural category learning. Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory, and Cognition, 44(11), 1845-1853. https://www.doi.org/10.1037/xlm0000554

McDougle, S. D., & Taylor, J. A. (2019). Dissociable cognitive strategies for sensorimotor learning. Nature Communications 10(1), Article 40. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41467-018-07941-0


Parenthetical citations: (Crossley et al., 2018; McDougle & Taylor, 2019)

Narrative citations: Crossley et al. (2018) and McDougle and Taylor (2019)

Journal Article without a DOI

  • For journal articles without a DOI that are found outside a database, include a nondatabase URL.
  • For journal articles without a DOI that are found in most academic research databases or in print, end the reference entry after the periodical information.

Ahmann, E., Tuttle, L. J., Saviet, M., & Wright, S. D. (2018). A descriptive review of ADHD coaching research: Implications for college students. Journal of Postsecondary Education and Disability, 31(1), 17-39. https://www.ahead.org/professional-resources/publications/jped/archived-jped/jped-volume-31

Goldman, C. (2018, November 28). The complicated calibration of love, especially in adoption. Chicago Tribune.

Lewis, B. J. (1999). Some key thoughts on leadership. Journal of Management in Engineering, 15(3), 6-7.


Parenthetical citations: (Ahmann et al., 2018; Goldman, 2018; Lewis, 1999)

Narrative citations: Ahmann et al. (2018), Goldman (2018), and Lewis (1999)

Articles Specific to a Database

  • Some databases contain articles only available in that database, such as with Cochrane and UpToDate.
  • In the reference list, format the articles from these databases like periodical articles. Do not italicize the database name if it appears in text.
  • Use the year of last update in the date element.
  • If content is designed to change over time (such as in UpToDate), include a retrieval date.

Bergman, H., Buckley, B. S., Villanueva, G., Petkovic, J., Garritty, C., Lutje, V., Riveros-Balta, A. X., Low, N., & Henschke, N. (2019). Comparison of different human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine types and dose schedules for prevention of HPV-related disease in females and males. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD013479

Morey, M. C. (2019). Physical activity and exercise in older adults. UpToDate. Retrieved July 22, 2019, from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/physical-activity-and-exercise-in-older-adults


Parenthetical citations: (Bergman et al., 2019; Morey, 2019)

Narrative citations: Bergman et al. (2019) and Morey (2019)

Magazine Article

Roberts, L. (2020, January 3). Global polio eradication falters in the final stretch. Science, 367(6473), 14-15. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.367.6473.14

Rothman, J. (2020, January 6). The equality conundrum. The New Yorker. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2020/01/13/the-equality-conundrum

Weir, K. (2017, January). Forgiveness can improve mental and physical health. Monitor on Psychology, 48(1), 30.


Parenthetical citations: (Roberts, 2020; Rothman, 2020; Weir, 2017)

Narrative citations: Roberts (2020), Rothman (2020), and Weir (2017)

Newspaper Article

  • To cite online news websites, see the Webpages & Websites tab of this guide. The examples below are for online newspapers.

Blakemore, E. (2020, January 4). Nonprofits, medical profession. tackle human trafficking as a health-care crisis. The Washington Post. https://www.washingtonpost.com/health/nonprofits-medical-profession-tackle-human-trafficking-as-a-health-care-crisis/2020/01/03/1aee81b6-2cec-11ea-bcb3-ac6482c4a92f_story.html

Hess, A. (2019, January 3). Cats who take direction. The New York Times, C1.


Parenthetical citations: (Blakemore, 2020; Hess, 2019)

Narrative citations: Blakemore (2020) and Hess (2019)

Blog Post

Klymkowsky, M. (2018, September 15). Can we talk scientifically about free will? Sci-Ed. https://blogs.plos.org/scied/2018/09/15/can-we-talk-scientifically-about-free-will/

Research to Action. (2018, April 30). Partnering for more effective and impactful development research. https://www.researchtoaction.org/2018/04/partnering-for-more-effective-and-impactful-development-research/


Parenthetical citations: (Klymkowsky, 2018; Research to Action, 2018)

Narrative citations: Klymkowsky (2018) and Research to Action (2018)

Comment on an Online Periodical Article or Post

  • Credit the person who left the comment as the author using the format that appears with the comment (i.e., a real name or a username).
  • Provide the comment title or up to the first 20 words of the comment; then write "Comment on the article" and the title of the article on which the comment appeared (in quotation marks and sentence case, enclosed within square brackets).
  • Link to the comment itself if possible.

baron dc. (2020, January 7). This is completely unethical and should be banned. Fake profiles filling up dating sites are nothing more than a scam [Comment on the article "Dating apps need women. Advertisers need diversity. AI companies offer a solution: Fake people"]. The Washington Post. https://www.washingtonpost.com/technology/2020/01/07/dating-apps-need-women-advertisers-need-diversity-ai-companies-offer-solution-fake-people/#comments-wrapper?outputType=comment&commentId=117f16fd-56c4-40d1-b47a-4416fb461d80


Parenthetical citation: (baron dc, 2020)

Narrative citation: baron dc (2020)

Editorial

  • Use the reference format for the publication in which the editorial was published. This example shows an editorial from a journal. Editorials may also appear in magazines, newspapers, or other publications.
  • Include the notation "Editorial" in square brackets after the title (except when the word "Editorial" is included in the title).

McCarthy, C. J. (2012). Putting group ideas into practice [Editorial]. Journal for Specialists in Group Work, 37(3), 169. 


Parenthetical citation: (McCarthy, 2012)

Narrative citation: McCarthy (2012)