Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Citations (7th ed.): Tests, Scales, & Inventories

This guide will help you learn how to properly cite sources in APA style and how to avoid plagiarism.

Tests, Scales, & Inventories

To cite a test, scale, or inventory, provide a citation for its supporting literature (e.g., its manual, which may be an authored or edited book, or the journal article in which it was published).

If supporting literature is not available, it is also possible to cite the test itself and/or a database record for a test.

The title of a test, a scale, or an inventory should be capitalized using title case whenever it appears in a paper, even if the test title is italicize in the reference.

A test database name is included only for test database records.

Tests, Scales, & Inventories Template

Manual for a Test, Scale, or Inventory

Tellegen, A., & Ben-Porath, Y. S. (2011). Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory–2 Restructured Form (MMPI-2-RF): Technical Manual. Pearson.


Parenthetical citation: (Tellegen & Ben-Porath, 2011)

Narrative citation: Tellegen & Ben-Porath (2011)

Test, Scale, or Inventory Itself

  • Cite the test, scale, or inventory itself only if a manual or other supporting literature is not available to cite; if a manual is available for a test, cite the manual, not the test.

Project Implicit. (n.d.). Gender-Science IAT. https://implicit.harvard.edu/implicit/takeatest.html


Parenthetical citation: (Project Implicit, n.d.)

Narrative citation: Project Implicit (n.d.)

Database Record for a Test

  • Test database records (e.g., records from PsycTESTS, the ETS TestLink collection, or the CINAHL database) typically provide unique descriptive and administrative information about tests; cite the database record if you use this unique information. Otherwise, cite the test's supporting literature, if available.

Alonso-Tapia, J., Nieto, C., Merino-Tejedor, E., Huertas, J. A., & Ruiz, M. (2018). Situated Goals Questionnaire for University Students (SGQ-U, CMS-U) [Database record]. PsycTESTS. https://doi.org/10.1037/t66267-000

Cardoza, D., Morris, J. K., Myers, H. F., & Rodriguez, N. (2000). Acculturative Stress Inventory (ASI) (TC022704) [Database record]. ETS TestLink.


Parenthetical citations: (Alonso-Tapia et al., 2018; Cardoza et al., 2000)

Narrative citations: Alonso-Tapia et al. (2018) and Cardoza et al. (2000)