Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citations (17th ed.)

This guide will help you use Chicago style for citations.

Citing Articles Using Chicago Style

Use these links to navigate to the correct section on the page. The page numbers referenced in each section are referencing The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed). so you can look up more information if necessary.

Basic Journal Article

Journal Article from an Online Periodical

Basic Magazine Article

Magazine Article from an Online Magazine

Newspaper Article

Basic Journal Article

From pages 828-831, starting with sect. 14.164.

General Format 
Full Note:

1. Author First Name and/or Initial Surname, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Issue date): page #.

Concise Note:

1. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name and/or Initial. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Issue date): Page range of article.

Example 
Full Note:

1. Nancy Tousley, "Tracing a History: Gisele Amantea," Canadian Art 20, no. 1 (Spring 2003): 64.

Concise Note:

1. Tousley, "Tracing a History," 64.

Bibliography:

Tousley, Nancy. "Tracing a History: Gisele Amantea." Canadian Art 20, no. 1 (Spring 2003): 63-65.

Journal Article from an Online Periodical

From pages 833, sect. 14.175.

Note that Chicago Style typically does not include database information or access dates for scholarly articles.

General Format 
Full Note: 

1. Author First Name and/or Initial Surname, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Issue Date): page #, DOI/URL.

Concise Note:

1. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name and/or Initial. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Issue Date): Page range of article. DOI/URL.

Example 1
Full Note:

1. Bernard Testa and Lamont B. Kier, "Emergence and Dissolvence in the Self-Organisation of Complex Systems," Entropy 2, no. 1 (March 2000): 17, http://www.mdpi.org/entropy/papers/e2010001.pdf.

Concise Note:

1. Testa and Kier, "Emergence and Dissolvence," 17.

Bibliography:

Testa, Bernard, and Lamont B. Kier. "Emergence and Dissolvence in the Self-Organisation of Complex Systems." Entropy 2, no. 1 (March 2000): 1-25. http://www.mdpi.org/entropy/papers/e2010001.pdf.

Example 2
Full Note:

1. David Meban, "Temple Building, Primus Language, and the Proem Virgil's Third Georgic," Classical Philology 103, no. 2 (April 2008): 153, https://doi.org/10.1086/591611.

Concise Note:

1. Meban, "Temple Building," 153.

Bibliography:

Meban, David. "Temple Building, Primus Language, and the Proem Virgil's Third Georgic." Classical Philology 103, no. 2 (April 2008): 150-74. https://doi.org/10.1086/591611.

Basic Magazine Article

From page 837-838, sect. 14.188.

Note that magazine titles are capitalized headline-style regardless of the original capitalization used by the magazine.

General Format 
Full Note:

1. Author First Name and/or Initial Surname, "Article Title," Magazine Title, Issue Date, page #.

Concise Note: 

1. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name and/or Initial. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Issue Date.

Example 
Full Note:

1. Carol Ezzell, "Care for a Dying Continent," Scientific American, May 2000, 32.

Concise Note:

1. Ezzell, "Care for a Dying Continent," 32.

Bibliography:

Ezzell, Carol. "Care for a Dying Continent." Scientific American, May 2000.

Magazine Article from an Online Magazine

From page 838, sect. 14.189.

If no suitable URL is available, the database may be included if you pulled the article from a database. If no publication date is available, include your access date in that slot. Finally, if you downloaded the article onto the publisher's application, include that information behind the magazine title in parenthesis (e.g., New York Times (Android app)). Page numbers are typically not available in online magazine articles, but if your source has them, include them as you would in a regular magazine citation.

General Format 
Full Note: 

1. Author First Name and/or Initial Surname, "Article Title," Magazine Title, Publication Date, URL.

Concise Note: 

1. Author Surname, "Article Title."

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name and/or Initial. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Publication Date, URL.

Example 
Full Note:

1. Joseph Boyden, "The Lessons Not Learned from the Gulf Coast Oil Spill: It's Been a Year Since the BP Disaster, and Nobody Has Learned Anything," Macleans, May 2, 2011, https://www.macleans.ca/news/world/spilling-over/.

Concise Note:

1. Boyden, "The Lessons Not Learned."

Bibliography:

Boyden, Joseph. "The Lessons Not Learned from the Gulf Coast Oil Spill: It's Been a Year Since the BP Disaster, and Nobody Has Learned Anything." Macleans, May 2, 2011. https://www.macleans.ca/news/world/spilling-over/.

Newspaper Article

From pages 838-843, starting with sect. 14.191.

Note that page numbers for newspaper articles are generally not included. Note the "edition" information, which may or may not be applicable to your newspaper choice. Many major newspapers publish multiple editions (local / national, morning / evening, etc.). If this information is not relevant to your publication, skip it. Finally, for less well-known newspapers, include the city/state information behind the newspaper title in parenthesis (e.g., Sioux City Journal (Sioux City, IA)).

Much like magazines, if a newspaper article is consulted online, include the URL after the other citation information.

General Format
Full Note:

1. Author First Name and/or Initial Surname, "Article Title," Newspaper Title, Publication Date, edition (if applicable).

Concise Note:

1. Author Surname, "Article Title."

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name and/or Initial. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Publication Date, edition (if applicable).

Example
Full Note:

1. Laurie Goodstein and William Glaberson, "The Well-Marked Roads to Homicidal Rage," New York Times, April 10, 2000, national edition.

Concise Note:

1. Goodstein and Glaberson, "The Well-Marked Roads."

Bibliography:

Goodstein, Laurie, and William Glaberson. "The Well-Marked Roads to Homicidal Rage." New York Times, April 10, 2000, national edition.