Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citations (17th ed.)

This guide will help you use Chicago style for citations.

Citing Books Using Chicago Style

Use these links to navigate to the correct section on the page. The page numbers referenced in each section are referencing The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed). so you can look up more information if necessary.

Books with 1 Author or Editor

Books with 2-3 Authors or Editors

Books with More than 3 Authors or Editors

Chapter or Article in a Multi-Author Book

Chapter or Article in a Multivolume Work

Book with an Organization as the Author

Book with No Author

E-books

Reference Book

Edition of a Book Other than the First

Book with One Author or Editor

Found on pages 799-800, sect. 14.100 of The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.).

General Format

Full Note: 

  1. Author First Name and/or Initial Surname, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Concise Note: 

  1. Author Surname, Book Title, page #.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name and/or Initial. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example

Full Note:

  1. Salman Rushdie, The Ground Beneath Her Feet (New York: Henry Holt, 1999), 25.

Concise Note:

  1. Rushdie, The Ground Beneath, 25.

Bibliography:

Rushdie, Salman. The Ground Beneath Her Feet. New York: Henry Holt, 1999.

Book with Two or Three Authors or Editors

From page 786, sect. 14.76.

General Format 
Full Note: 

  1. Author First Name and/or Initial Surname and Author First Name and/or Initial Surname, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Concise Note: 

  1. Author Surname and Author Surname, Book Title, page #. 

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name and/or Initial, and Author First Name and/or Initial Surname. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example
Full Note:

  1. Liam P. Unwin and Joseph Galloway, Peace In Ireland (Boston: Stronghope Press, 1990), 139.  

Concise Note:

  1. Unwin and Galloway, Peace in Ireland, 139.

Bibliography:

Unwin, Liam P., and Joseph Galloway. Peace in Ireland. Boston: Stronghope Press, 1990.

Book with More than Three Authors or Editors

From pages 786-787, sect. 14.76.

General Format 
Full Note: 

  1. Author First Name/Initial Surname et al., Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Concise Note: 

  1. Author Surname et al., Book Title, page #.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name/Initial, Author First Name/Initial Surname, Author First Name/Initial Surname, and Author First Name/Initial Surname. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example 
Full Note:

  1. Jeri A. Sechzer et al., eds., Women and Mental Health (Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1996), 243.

Concise Note:

  1. Sechzer et al., Women and Mental Health, 243.

Bibliography:

Sechzer, Jeri A., S. M. Pfaffilin, F. L. Denmark, A. Griffin, and S. J. Blumenthal, eds. Women and Mental Health. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1996.

Chapter or Article in a Multi-Author Book

From page 803, sect. 14.107.

General Format 
Full Note: 

  1. Author First Name and/or Initial Surname, "Title of Chapter or Article," in Book Title: Subtitle, ed. Editor First Name and/or Initial Surname (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Concise Note:

  1. Author Surname, "Title of Chapter or Article," page #.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name and/or Initial. "Title of Chapter or Article." In Book Title: Subtitle, edited by Editor First Name Surname, page range of article/chapter. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example
Full Note:

  1. Noel Starblanket, "An Aboriginal Perspective on the Creation of the Star Blanket First Nation's Reserves," in Urban Indian Reserves: Forging New Relationships in Saskatchewan, ed. F. L. Barron and J. Garcia (Saskatoon, SK: Purich Publishing, 1999), 240.

Concise Note:

  1. Starblanket, "Aboriginal Perspective," 240.

Bibliography:

Starblanket, Noel. "An Aboriginal Perspective on the Creation of the Star Blanket First Nation's Reserves." In Urban Indian Reserves: Forging New Relationships in Saskatchewan, edited by F. L. Barron and J. Garcia, 231-242. Saskatoon, SK: Purich Publishing, 1999.

Chapter or Article in a Multivolume Work

Presented here is the most basic form of a citation for this kind of material. Multivolume works often have editors (and for edited multivolume works, include the editor / editors in the same place as noted on our section on chapters and articles in multi-author books), but also multivolume works sometimes name each volume individually, some volumes may have a different editor than the general editor of the series, and so on, as this sort of work is often published slowly over several years (if not decades) and details of authorship and editorship can change significantly as time moves on. In our collection, the most difficult example of this kind of material is The War of the Rebellion, a comprehensive and exhaustive collection of all materials published internally by the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War.

For more help regarding these more complex examples, please see pages 807-811, starting with sect. 14.116 in The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed., or visit with our reference librarian Holly Schettler.

General Format
Full Note:

  1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Title of Chapter or Article," in Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), Volume #:page #.

Concise Note: 

  1. Author Surname, "Title of Chapter or Article," Volume #:page #.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name. "Title of Chapter or Article." In Vol. Volume #, Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example
Full Note:

  1. Mario Creet, "Fleming, Sir Sandford," in Dictionary of Canadian Biography: 1911-1920 (Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1998), 14:359.

Concise Note:

  1. Creet, "Fleming, Sir Sandford," 14:359.

Bibliography:

Creet, Mario. "Fleming, Sir Sandford." In Vol. 14, Dictionary of Canadian Biography: 1911-1920. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1998: 359.

Book with an Organization as the Author

From page 791, sect. 14.84.

General Format:
Full Note: 

  1. Organization Name, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Concise Note: 

  1. Organization Name, Book Title, page #.

Bibliography:

Organization Name. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example 
Full Note:

  1. World Health Organization, WHO Editorial Style Manual (Geneva: World Health Organization, 1993), 34.

Concise Note:

  1. World Health Organization, WHO Editorial Style, 34.

Bibliography:

World Health Organization. WHO Editorial Style Manual. Geneva: World Health Organization, 1993.

Book with No Author

From pages 787-788, sect. 14.79.

Keep in mind that an initial article in a book title (i.e., the, an, a) is ignored when alphabetizing your bibliography.

If a work is specifically attributed to "Anonymous," i.e. that it appears on the title page of the work, "Anonymous" should be credited as an author. If the author is known or there is substantial evidence to whom it might be, the assumed author may be placed in square brackets [Like This], though with only a speculated author, a question mark should be included [Like This?].

General Format 
Full Note: 

  1. Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Concise Note: 

  1. Book Title, page #.

Bibliography:

Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example 
Full Note:

  1. New York Public Library American History Desk Reference (New York: Macmillan, 1997), 87.

Concise Note:

  1. New York Public Library, 87.

Bibliography:

New York Public Library American History Desk Reference. New York: Macmillan, 1997.

E-books

When working with electronic text, books or articles, you should provide a DOI when possible. Learn more about DOIs here.

General Format 
Full Note:

  1. Author First Name and/or Initial Surname, Book Title: Subtitle (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), location information, format.

Concise Note:

  1. Author Surname, Book Title, location information.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Book Title: Subtitle. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Format or URL/DOI.

Example 1
Full Note:

  1. Nicholas Michaud, Discworld and Philosophy: Reality Is Not What It Seems (Chicago: Open Court, 2016), 209, EPUB.

Concise Note:

  1. Michaud, Discworld and Philosophy, 209.

Bibliography:

Michaud, Michael. Discworld and Philosophy: Reality Is Not What It Seems. Chicago: Open Court, 2016. EPUB.

Example 2
Full Note:

  1. Elliot Antokoletz, Musical Symbolism in the Operas of Debussy and Bartok (New York: Oxford University Press,  2008), chap. 4, https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195365825.001.0001.

Concise Note:

  1. Antokoletz, Musical Symbolism, chap. 4

Bibliography:

Elliot Antokoletz. Musical Symbolism in the Operas of Debussy and Bartok. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780195365825.001.0001.

Reference Book

From page 858, sect. 14.232.

Well-known reference books are generally only cited in notes, not the bibliography.  Full publication information is usually not included, but the edition must be specified.

References to an alphabetically arranged work cite the item preceded by "s.v.", instead of a volume or page number.

To cite less well-known reference books, or if a fuller citation is required, please see the section for a "Chapter or Article in a Multi-Author Book."

General Format (for well known reference works)
Full Note:

  1. Book Title: Subtitle, Edition (Year of Publication), s.v. "Title of Entry."

Concise Note: 

  1. Book Title, s.v. "Title of Entry."

Bibliography:
Often omitted.

Example
Full Note:

  1. Encyclopedia Britannica, 15th ed. (2008), s.v. "Salvation."

Concise Note:

  1. Encyclopedia Britannica, s.v. "Salvation."

Bibliography:
Often omitted.

Edition of a Book Other than the First

From pages 806-807, starting with sect. 14.113.

Second edition = 2nd ed.
Third edition = 3rd ed.
Fourth edition = 4th ed.
Revised edition = rev. ed. (Note) or Rev. ed. (Bibliography)

General Format 
Full Note:

  1. Author First Name and/or Initial Surname, Book Title: Subtitle, edition (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page #.

Concise Note: 

  1. Author Surname, Book Title, page #.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name and/or Initial. Book Title: Subtitle. Edition. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year.

Example
Full Note:

  1. Daniel Rhodes, Clay and Glazes for the Potter, rev. ed. (Iola, WI: Krause Publications, 2000), 85.

Concise Note:

  1. Rhodes, Clay and Glazes, 85.

Bibliography:

Rhodes, Daniel. Clay and Glazes for the Potter. Rev. ed. Iola, WI: Krause Publications, 2000.