Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Citations (17th ed.)

This guide will help you use Chicago style for citations.

Citing Images and Art

Use these links to navigate to the correct section on the page. The page numbers referenced in each section are referencing The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed). so you can look up more information if necessary.

Artwork and Other Images Published Photograph

Artwork and Other Images

From pages 859-860, sect. 14.235.

If the artwork you are citing was consulted online, include a URL as the last item in the notes and bibliographic citations. If not, disregard that section of the citation format. If item is only expressed in metric units by the collection or museum, only include the metric units in place of the Imperial units in the citation formats below.

General Format 
Full Note:

1. Author First Name and/or Initial Surname, Image Title, Date of creation, format, size in Imperial units (size in metric units), museum or collection, location of museum or collection, URL.

Concise Note: 

1. Author Surname, Image Title.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name and/or Initial. Image Title. Year. Format, size in Imperial units (size in metric units). Museum or collection, location of museum or collection.

Example 
Full Note:

1. Salvador Dalí, The Persistence of Memory, 1931, oil on canvas, 9½ x 13" (24.1 cm x 33 cm), Museum of Modern Art, New York, http://www.moma.org/collection/works/79018.

Concise Note:

1. Dalí, The Persistence of Memory.

Bibliography:

Dalí, Salvador. The Persistence of Memory. 1931. Oil on canvas, 9½ x 13" (24.1 cm x 33 cm). Museum of Modern Art, New York. http://www.moma.org/collection/works/79018.

Published Photograph

From page 824, sect. 14.158 and sect. 14.235 on pages 859-860.

Published photographs are largely cited similarly to a chapter or article with a specific author in a book, especially for books with editors. For photographs existing in museums or as part of a collection use the "Artwork and Other Images" demonstrated above. If the book or periodical includes a figure number, plate number, or the like, include that information after the page number. Else, omit. If the photograph you are citing is on the cover of the book, magazine, or journal you are consulting, note that after the title of the work.

For particularly complex situations, please feel free to visit us at the library for help.

General Format 
Full Note:

1. Author First Name and/or Initial Surname, Photograph Title, Date of Creation (if known), photograph, Book or Periodical Title, publication information (following structure for books, journals, or magazines), page number, figure/plate/table/etc number.

Concise Note:

1. Author Surname, Photograph Title.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name and/or Initial. Photograph Title. Date of creation (if known). Photograph. Book or Periodical Title. Publication information (following structure for books, journals, or magazines). Page number. Figure/plate/table/etc number.

Example
Full Note:

1. Steve McCurry, Afghan Girl, December 1984, photograph, National Geographic, cover, June 1985.

Concise Note:

1. McCurry, Afghan Girl.

Bibliography:

McCurry, Steve. Afghan Girl. December 1984. Photograph. National Geographic, cover, June 1985.