Research in the Field - PSYC 300 - Professional Seminar - LibGuides at Hickman-Johnson-Furrow Learning Center

Psychology Databases

The following databases are your best bets when you are trying to locate articles and research pertaining to psychology. If your topic also reaches into the areas of education or health, check out some of the related databases below. There is also a section of "additional databases" that may be of use to you.

Psychology Collection (PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES)
"PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

Practitioners, researchers, and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. PsycINFO includes psychological research and its applications; the database is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments worldwide. The sources include over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters," (ProQuest, 2019).

"PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals," (ProQuest, 2019).

ProQuest Psychology Collection provides complete access to PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress. PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO are provided by the American Psychology Association APA.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
"Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection," (Gale, 2017).

Education Databases

Education Research Complete
“Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,400 journals, as well as full-text for more than 1,300 journals and 530+ books and monographs,” (EbscoHost, 2019).
ERIC
"ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. It includes more than 1.6 million records, links to nearly 750,000 full-text documents, coverage dating back to 1966, and an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms," (EBSCOhost, 2019).

Medical Databases

BioMed Central
“BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine,” (BMC, 2019). "Our leading research journals include selective titles such as BMC Biology, BMC Medicine, Genome Biology and Genome Medicine, academic journals such as Journal of Hematology & Oncology, Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC series, 65 inclusive journals focused on the needs of individual research communities. We also partner with leading institutions and societies to publish journals on their behalf," (BMC, 2019).
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
“This comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules. CINAHL Plus with Full Text includes publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. In addition, this resource offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, book chapters and more.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines," (EBSCOhost, 2019).
Health Source: Nursing Academic
“Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more. Content includes: more than 320 full-text journals, more than 250 peer-reviewed full-text journals, and indexing and abstracting from more than 840 journals," (EBSCOhost, 2019).
PubMed
"PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites," (PubMed, 2019).

Criminal Justice Databases

Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)
"The Criminal Justice Collection informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more," (Gale, 2017).
JSTOR Collections
“JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences,” (JSTOR, 2011). Although most content found here is full-text, researchers may also find links to articles that are not available online through Morningside College. The HJF Library provides access through JSTOR to 15 Arts & Sciences Collections and 1 Life Science Collection.
Vocational & Career Collection
"Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this database provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals for high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public," (EBSCOhost, 2019).

Additional Databases

Academic Search Elite
Academic Search Elite offers nearly 1,600 active full-text journals and magazines, more than 1,300 active full-text peer-reviewed journals, more than 670 active full-text peer-reviewed journals with no embargo, and more than 1,100 full-text journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus. Academic Search Elite covers most disciplines, provides access to news and videos from the Associated Press.
Academic OneFile
"The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly," (Gale, 2017).
Statista This link opens in a new window
"Statista.com is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 22,500 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets," (Statista.com).

Finding Books

Check out the library's catalog or our ebook collection to find more reference and background psychology resources. You can also try searching for a specific topic, but often books that contain background information are broad. Remember this when choosing search terms.

Some subject terms in our ebook collection you can search by:

Psychology / Developmental / General
Psychology -- Research -- Methodology
Family & Relationships / Life Stages / General
Psychology / History
Psychology / Cognitive Psychology & Cognition
Self-esteem -- Research
Clinical Psychology -- Standards
Science -- Psychological Aspects
Psychology / Psychotherapy / Counseling

Also try searching keywords related to broad concepts, such as:

Applied Psychology
Psychoanalysis
Experimental Psychology
Moral Psychology
Professional Ethics
Interpersonal Relations
Psychobiology

If you need some more ideas, you can always talk with your professor or a librarian.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows you to check out materials that are unavailable in our library from libraries around the US. It is available to all Morningside College students (including distant education graduate students), faculty, and staff. ILL can be used for both physical and digital materials.

To find a book or other physical resource, it is easiest to use WorldCat Interlibrary Loan. Once you find a resource you want in this database, you need only to click on the link "Borrow this item from another library" and fill in your contact information to make an ILL request.

To request an article, it is easiest to go to the ILL Submission Form. Use the citation information for the article you want to fill in the form. Make sure to put as much information as possible. This makes it easier for us to find the correct item for you.

Physical resources may take 7 to 10 days or longer to receive once you put in a request. Please keep this in mind when beginning your research. You will receive an email when your item(s) are available to be picked up at the library.

Digital materials often only take a few days to receive. These resources will be emailed to you.

If you have any questions about ILL, please do not hesitate to ask a librarian.