Students choosing this assignment will work in groups to recreate a famous psychological study. This could be an experimental study, a survey, or an observational study. Some things to think about:
If you need help choosing an experiment, talk to your professor or a librarian. You can also consult textbooks available through your professor or some of the resources to the left.
Students will need to get approval from the instructor and submit an application to IRB prior to completing the study.
Classic Experiments in Psychology by 
Recent Experiments in Psychology by 
The Man Who Shocked the World by 
Handbook of Multivariate Experimental Psychology by 
The EBSCO eBook collection includes titles covering many subjects. Click here to start searching for eBooks on your topic.
Google Scholar (2010) provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Recommended steps are detailed in your handout for this assignment. The basics are listed here:
Final papers should include APA title page with all the group members’ names on it, reference page (minimum of 2 sources, one of which should be the original research), and header. The final paper should be 2-4 pages, not counting title and reference page.
Some databases tell you if an article exists, but do not provide full-text access to the article.
To learn how to look for full-text access in another database, in print, or online, watch this video. It covers the 3 steps to finding full-text articles:
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows you to check out materials that are unavailable in our library from libraries around the US. It is available to all Morningside College students (including distant education graduate students), faculty, and staff. ILL can be used for both physical and digital materials.
To find a book or other physical resource, it is easiest to use WorldCat Interlibrary Loan. Once you find a resource you want in this database, you need only to click on the link "Borrow this item from another library" and fill in your contact information to make an ILL request.
To request an article, it is easiest to go to the ILL Submission Form. Use the citation information for the article you want to fill in the form. Make sure to put as much information as possible. This makes it easier for us to find the correct item for you.
Physical resources may take 7 to 10 days or longer to receive once you put in a request. Please keep this in mind when beginning your research. You will receive an email when your item(s) are available to be picked up at the library.
Digital materials often only take a few days to receive. These resources will be emailed to you.
If you have any questions about ILL, please do not hesitate to ask a librarian.
All scholarly writing needs to be properly cited. If you need help with citations, you can talk to your professor or a librarian.
You can also check out our citation style LibGuides:
