LibGuides: Education Resources: Home

Education Resources

Welcome to the Education Resources LibGuide! This guide has been put together by the librarians of the HJF Library to help students in Morningside's education programs find the resources they need to succeed in their classes. The library has plethora of resources available to all students, including education students, but they are located in various physical locations and online. This guide should hopefully assist you in finding those resources, whether physical or electronic, so you can do your best research. If you need help at all or have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact a librarian!

General Databases

The following databases are those the library recommends for general research. Some may be reference databases such as Encyclopedia Britannica or Oxford English Dictionary. Others are more general databases containing thousands of articles regarding hundreds of subjects, including education. Please let a librarian know if you need assistance in finding the right database for your research.

Need to find more databases? Try our A to Z list of databases! Here you can sort our databases by the subject area you are researching in to find the exact database for your needs.

Academic OneFile
"The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly," (Gale, 2017).
Academic Search Elite
Academic Search Elite offers nearly 1,600 active full-text journals and magazines, more than 1,300 active full-text peer-reviewed journals, more than 670 active full-text peer-reviewed journals with no embargo, and more than 1,100 full-text journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus. Academic Search Elite covers most disciplines, provides access to news and videos from the Associated Press.
Britannica Online
Britannica Online has numerous reference resources available to its users. These resources include encyclopedia articles, reference books, primary source documents, audio and video files, images, news articles, atlases, and more.
JSTOR Collections
“JSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences,” (JSTOR, 2011). Although most content found here is full-text, researchers may also find links to articles that are not available online through Morningside College. The HJF Library provides access through JSTOR to 15 Arts & Sciences Collections and 1 Life Science Collection.
Oxford English Dictionary
“The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from Dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first major revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language," (OED, 2019).

Databases for K-12 Students

The following databases are those that are often used in K-12 schools. If you are looking to get the experience that your students would in a classroom for lesson plans or other assignments, check out these.

Primary Search
"Designed for elementary school libraries, Primary Search is a full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, including endangered species, famous musicians, fitness and space exploration. Content includes: more than 180,000 full-text articles (many in color PDF) from 100 popular children's magazines, east-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids, and an image collection of more than 1.8 million relevant photos, maps and flags," (EBSCOhost, 2019).

Education Resources

Contact Us

Other Helpful Guides

Education Resources

General Databases

Databases for K-12 Students