LibGuides: Education Resources: Articles & Journals

Basics on Database Searching

There are millions of full text articles from thousands of journals in our resources that we offer our students, not to mention what one can find via Google Scholar and the Web (see below for more about that). How does one actually find what they are looking for?

Here are some basic concepts and methods to aid you in your search.

Education Researcher Complete (EBSCO)

Elementary Education

Secondary Education

Educational Technology

ERIC (EBSCO)

Educational Technology

Special Education

Academic Achievement

If you are struggling to find enough useful sources in your research, you may want to try these helpful strategies.

Education Databases

The following databases are specifically geared towards researchers in education and/or behavioral sciences. Each database contains different content though some may overlap at times. Also, each database has its own search functionality and learning about how to use it in that specific database will assist in finding the resources you're looking for. If you have any questions, please contact a librarian.

Education Research Complete
“Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,400 journals, as well as full-text for more than 1,300 journals and 530+ books and monographs,” (EbscoHost, 2019).
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)
"This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator—from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy," (Gale, 2017).
ERIC
"ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. It includes more than 1.6 million records, links to nearly 750,000 full-text documents, coverage dating back to 1966, and an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms," (EBSCOhost, 2019).
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
"Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection," (Gale, 2017).
Psychology Collection (PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES)
"PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

Practitioners, researchers, and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. PsycINFO includes psychological research and its applications; the database is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments worldwide. The sources include over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters," (ProQuest, 2019).

"PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals," (ProQuest, 2019).

ProQuest Psychology Collection provides complete access to PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO and PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress. PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO are provided by the American Psychology Association APA.

Education Journals

The following journal titles are ones that the HJF Library subscribes to individually (not from databases) because the faculty and instructors in the education programs at Morningside have deemed them to be vital to the curriculum and profession of teaching. Each of the links below will take you to the catalog record for that specific journal. Here what you see will vary by title but they all provide a date range that we have access to and links to the website and/or database the articles can be searched and found at. Each link will likely have a different date range of availability so make sure to double check before going to a specific link. If you have any issues with access, please notify a librarian so it can be fixed as soon as possible.

You can search our Full Text Finder if you are need a specific journal title. It will tell you if we have it, what database it is in or if it is in print, and what dates we have access to.

Search Full Text Finder

Journal Title Subscriptions in Education

American School Board Journal
"Founded in 1891, American School Board Journal chronicles change, interprets issues, and offers readers—some 50,000 school board members and school administrators—practical advice on a broad range of topics pertinent to school governance and management, policy making, student achievement, and the art of school leadership. In addition, regular departments cover education news, school law, research, and new books," (ASBJ, 2015).
Art Education
"Art Education is the official journal of the National Art Education Association. Art Education covers a diverse range of topics of professional interest to art educators and anyone whose interest is quality visual arts education. It is published bi-monthly in full color. Each issue features an editorial, six articles, and instructional resources, making Art Education a significant addition to every educators’ reference library," (Art Education, 2021).
Childhood Education
"Each issue includes articles highlighting various perspectives on innovative classroom practices from around the world; cutting-edge concepts for education delivery; innovative schooling models; child growth and development theory; timely and vital issues affecting education, children, and their families; and research reviews. The journal’s editorial intent is to include a wide distribution of articles from varied countries, and from advocacy- and policy-oriented organizations as well as academic institutions," (ACEI, 2015).
Early Childhood Research Quarterly
"Early Childhood Research Quarterly (ECRQ) publishes research on early childhood education and development from birth through 8 years of age. ECRQ publishes predominantly empirical research (quantitative or qualitative methods) on issues of interest to early childhood development, theory, and educational practice. The journal also occasionally publishes practitioner and/or policy perspectives and significant reviews of research. As an applied journal, we are interested in work that has social, policy, and educational relevance and implications and work that strengthens links between research and practice, (Elsevier, 2021).
Educational Researcher
"Educational Researcher publishes scholarly articles that are of general significance to the education research community and that come from a wide range of areas of education research and related disciplines. Published nine times a year, ER aims to make major programmatic research and new findings of broad importance widely accessible," (Sage Journals, 2015).
Education and Training in Autism and Developmental Disabilities
"This online, peer-reviewed, professional journal is published yearly by the Division on Autism and Developmental Disabilities. The Division on Autism and Developmental Disabilities is an organization composed of persons committed to enhancing the quality of life of individuals, especially children and youth, with autism, intellectual disability and other developmental disabilities. The Division seeks to further the knowledge base of the field, thus ensuring the continued advancement of positive educational and life outcomes for those with autism and developmental disabilities," (DADD, 2015).
Gifted Child Quarterly
"Gifted Child Quarterly (GCQ) publishes original research and new and creative insights about giftedness and talent development in the context of the school, the home, and the wider society. Each issue offers quantitative and qualitative research studies that explore the characteristics of gifted students, program models, curriculum and other important areas that maximize the development and education of gifted students. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE), (Sage, 2021).
Harvard Educational Review
"The Harvard Educational Review is a scholarly journal of opinion and research in education. It provides an interdisciplinary forum for discussion and debate about the field’s most vital issues. Since its founding in 1930, HER has become a prestigious education journal, with circulation to policymakers, researchers, administrators, and teachers, (Harvard Educational Review, 2021).
Journal of College Science Teaching
"The Journal of College Science Teaching provides a forum for the exchange of ideas on and experiences with undergraduate science courses, particularly those for nonscience majors. JCST also reports and discusses innovative teaching materials, methods, and evaluative criteria; disseminates contributions toward improving college science instruction; and describes work in disciplinary science courses that is broad enough in its approach to appeal to teachers in other scientific fields. All manuscripts are peer reviewed," (Journal of College Science Teaching, 2021).
Journal of Learning Disabilities
"Journal of Learning Disabilities (JLD) provides specials series (in-depth coverage of topics in the field, such as mathematics, sciences and the learning disabilities field as discursive practice), feature articles (extensive literature reviews, theoretical papers, and position papers), research articles (reports of qualitative and quantitative empirical research), and intervention articles (overviews of successful interventions). This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE)," (Sage, 2021).
Journal of Special Education, The
"The Journal of Special Education (JSE) publishes reports of research and scholarly reviews on improving education and services for individuals with disabilities. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE)," (Sage, 2021).
Language Teaching
"Language Teaching is the essential research resource for language professionals providing a rich and expert overview of research in the field of second-language teaching and learning. It offers critical survey articles of recent research on specific topics, second and foreign languages and countries, and invites original research articles reporting on replication studies and meta-analyses. The journal also includes regional surveys of outstanding doctoral dissertations, topic-based research timelines, theme-based research agendas, recent plenary conference speeches, and research-in-progress reports. A thorough peer-reviewing procedure applies to both the commissioned and the unsolicited articles," (Cambridge University Press, 2021).
Learning & Behavior
"Learning & Behavior presents experimental and theoretical contributions and critical reviews concerning fundamental processes of learning and behavior in nonhuman and human animals. Topics covered include sensation, perception, conditioning, learning, attention, memory, motivation, emotion, development, social behavior, and comparative investigations. Formerly entitled Animal Learning & Behavior, this journal is a publication of the Psychonomic Society," (Springer, 2021).
Religion and Education
"Religion & Education is a journal of analysis and comment with the purpose of advancing public understanding and dialogue on issues at the intersections of religion and education. These issues emerge in various venues; manuscripts are invited from work in any such arena: public or private education at elementary, secondary, or higher education institutions; non-school or community organizations and settings; and formal or informal organizations or groups with religion or spirituality as an integral part of their work," (Taylor & Francis, 2021).
Remedial and Special Education
"Offers interdisciplinary articles that bridge the gap between theory and practice involving the education of individuals for whom typical instruction is not effective. Articles include topical reviews, syntheses of research, field evaluation studies, and recommendations for practice of remedial and special education," (Sage, 2021).
Review of Educational Research
"The Review of Educational Research (RER, quarterly, begun in 1931; approximately 640 pp./volume year) publishes critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education. Such reviews should include conceptualizations, interpretations, and syntheses of literature and scholarly work in a field broadly relevant to education and educational research. RER encourages the submission of research relevant to education from any discipline, such as reviews of research in psychology, sociology, history, philosophy, political science, economics, computer science, statistics, anthropology, and biology, provided that the review bears on educational issues. RER does not publish original empirical research unless it is incorporated in a broader integrative review. RER will occasionally publish solicited, but carefully refereed, analytic reviews of special topics, particularly from disciplines infrequently represented," (Sage, 2021).
Science and Children
"Science and Children is an award-winning, peer-reviewed, practitioners' journal for grade PreK–5 teachers, university faculty responsible for teacher preparation, and state and district science supervisors and leaders. Science and Children is published six times a year and is available in print and as an e-journal," (Science and Children, 2021).
Science Scope
"Science Scope is an award-winning, peer-reviewed, practitioners' journal for grade 6–8 teachers, university faculty responsible for teacher preparation, and state and district science supervisors and leaders. Science Scope is published six times a year and is available in print and as an e-journal," (Science Scope, 2021).
Science Teacher, The
"The Science Teacher is an award-winning, peer-reviewed, practitioners' journal for grade 9-12 teachers, university faculty responsible for teacher preparation, and state and district science supervisors and leaders. The Science Teacher is published six times a year and is available in print and as an e-journal," (Science Teacher, 2021).
Social Education
"Social Education, our flagship journal, contains a balance of theoretical content and practical teaching ideas. The award-winning resources include techniques for using materials in the classroom, information on the latest instructional technology, reviews of educational media, research on significant social studies-related topics, and lesson plans that can be applied to various disciplines. Departments include Looking at the Law, Surfing the Net, and Teaching with Documents. Social Education is published 6 times per year: September; October; November/December; January/February; March/April; and May/June," (Ingenta, 2021).
Teaching Exceptional Children
"TEACHING Exceptional Children (TEC) features research-to-practice information and materials for classroom use, as well as current issues in special education teaching and learning. Published six times per year, TEC also brings its readers the latest data on instructional technologies, strategies, procedures, and techniques with applications to students with exceptionalities. The focus of its practical content is on immediate application," (Sage, 2021).

Education Resources

Contact Us

What is Interlibrary Loan?

Finding Full Text Access

Basics on Database Searching

Education Databases

Education Journals

Journal Title Subscriptions in Education